With a new curriculum, comes a new assessment system. For an overview of how children will be assessed and their attainment measured in KS1 and KS2 , please click on the link below.

Assessment Guide

We have invested a lot of time and effort into developing an assessment system that is able to fairly judge how well a child is attaining within the curriculum. Our assessment ladders help us to make that judgement. They incorporate all aspects of the National Curriculum and the Interim Teacher Assessment Frameworks (ITAF).  The ITAF documents are used nationally to judge the attainment of children at the end of Key Stage 1 and Key Stage 2.

Below are the St James Assessment Ladders:

English Ladders Year R-1    Reception Maths   Reading Ladders Year R-1

English Ladders Year 1-2     Year 1 Maths          Reading Ladders Year 1-2

English Ladders Year 2-3    Year 2 Maths          Reading Ladders Year 2-3

English Ladders Year 3-4    Year 3 Maths          Reading Ladders Year 3-4

English Ladders Year 4-5    Year 4 Maths          Reading Ladders Year 4-5

English Ladders Year 5-6    Year 5 Maths          Reading Ladders Year 5-6

Year 6 Maths

For children in Nursery and Reception, they are assessed against the Development Matters document. This assessment tool outlines the seven areas of learning and development.

3 Prime Areas:

Personal, Social and Emotional Development

Physical Development

Communication and Language


4 Specific Areas:



Understanding the World

Expressive Arts and Design


The Development Matters document can be found here.

Development Matters

Contact Details

St. James CE Primary School
Wolverley Crescent
West Midlands
B69 1BG

0121 552 5491